Day 4-5

Dear Diary,

Apologies for missing you the last couple days, you can tell I’m new at this.  I spent the weekend with one of my good friends and college roommate.  She came into the city for the weekend; we did a lot of shopping and went out to dinner at a couple new restaurants.  I’m glad she came; she was a good distraction (and practice for when my sister comes to visit from the west coast).  Mostly a distraction from my boyfriend, I’ve really been trying to work on things with him but he seems to not care, I even suggested we take a weekend trip together a while back.  He couldn’t go because of work but then last Friday told me that he would be going to Myrtle Beach for the weekend to go golfing with his buddies!  The weird thing is I’m not that sad, just disappointed in him.  I’m not sure how much longer we will last, but he seems indifferent regardless of what I do.  I’m nervous how things will be when my sister gets to town, I really want us to have a great time but also want her to be happy for me in all my accomplishments and not worried about my love life.

Oh, I also bought a kitty condo…Pepper loves it so far but we will see how she does this week when I’m at work! Keep your fingers crossed!

Xoxo,

Beth

5 Comments »

  1. Becca Dailey Said:

    Hi Beth,

    I feel compelled to be frank, please do not take offense…Quoted from the ever bare-faced “He’s Just Not That Into You” advice book; he’s just not that into you…
    I found this hilarious quote from Gigi: ‘Ok, Ok. Exhibit A. Chad the drummer who lived in a storage space. He only used me for rides and yet I continued to stalk him for most of 1998. Then oh, um, there was Don, that broke up with me every Friday so that he could have his weekends free. I was delusional about that relationship. I used to refer to him as my husband to random people, like my dental hygienist. Anyway, all my friends used to tell me about how things might work out with these dipsticks because they knew someone, who knew someone, who dated a dipstick just like mine. That girl ended up getting married and living happily ever after. That the exception and we’re not the exception we’re the rule.’
    Essentially, what this means is this-if you ‘feel’ that he seems not to care, you are probably dead on. You see, our female intuition is there for a reason, and is so powerful, kind of like a sixth sense. Love is blind as they say, and will forever leave us gullible women looming in a state of denial when it comes to relationships. Wait for someone to thirst for you, he should be courting you especially in the early years. Trust me, life together gets more difficult, you throw children a mortgage and the daily stresses of a family in the mix, and the true test begins. If you are having troubles now, run-and run fast.
    You may wonder what my credentials are, I am a 30 something, single mother of 2 amazing boys, struggling to make it in the world. The reality is, I couldn’t be happier! I am free of the marriage that was literally suffocating me, and am anxiously awaiting the next opportunity to share my new found freedom with my fellow girlfriends.

    Good luck, and please keep blogging on your journey, it’s good for the soul 🙂

    Cheers,
    Becca

  2. Addison Bennett Said:

    Hey there Beth,

    Glad the kitty condo seems to have done the trick for now! Keep me posted on how it goes. You can also try anytime you see those little nails being used on anything except the condo, just move Pepper back to the condo, they catch on pretty quick!

    Seems like things are not going as well with the boyfriend! The paces they put us through. I am a believer in if it “feels” right it is, doubts in my opinion don’t just happen there is a trigger always.

    Will keep my eye out for how Pepper is doing 🙂

    Best

    Addi

  3. Laura B. Said:

    Hey Beth, thanks for you comment 🙂 You’ve traveled to Belgium? That’s nice, where else did you travel? Living in France I’d like to visit more European countries, because I haven’t visited much, which is a shame!

    It’s funny you talk comfort zone, I had a counselor during my stay in the USA who always said that we should away stay out of our comfort zone, even in our home countries because that’s how you learn more and experience stuff you might have never experience if you had stayed in you comfort zone. I try to keep it in mind but it’s hard sometimes to know what to do, dreaming is easy, putting your words into action isn’t.

    I hope things will get better with your boyfriend, and that you’ll have a good time with your sister. Which state do you live in? I think I’ve heard of Myrtle Beach before.

    Take care

    • elizabethnor Said:

      Thanks! I traveled in the United Kingdom mostly, Belgium and Holland, that was a few years ago when I was still in school. I know what you mean about not visiting as much as you want to. I wanted to really check out Spain and was never able to! Myrtle Beach is in North Carolina. It’s on the east coast and people tend to go their to golf or sit on the beach. It’s south enough that it doesn’t get too cold. I’m a little (ok, a lot) north in Massachusetts. I hope your traveling goes well and definitely check out London if you can!

  4. Addison Bennett Said:

    Beth,

    Haven’t seen you post much here lately and wanted to see how things were going. Pepper still doing good with the condo and keeping those claws in check?

    Thought of you a week ago as I was attending SXSW and huge music conference in Austin, Texas. I was exposed to many new amazing artist. I was excited to see Hole and believe it or not Courtney Love nailed it (thought she might be a train wreck) LOL. It would have been a great escape for you from the “boy” and make some decisions.

    How did things go with your sister? Did you get your phone to out rock hers? You seemed pretty determined to get that done just curious if you found anything amazing.

    Well, just wanted to see what you were up to.

    Addi


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

